Freezing

The darkness brings the cold with it, and all the blankets in the world couldn’t keep my chattering heart warm. I am frozen. Ice in my veins, in my chest, in my head. My fingertips turn blue and this time I cannot simply run them over your fiery skin to warm them up. Crystal tears freeze halfway down; purple lips crack when they part to whisper your name. I am frozen, retreating into a ball of myself, curled around my heart in the hopes of somehow keeping that part of me alive. 
But I fail. 

The ice stems from the root of my arteries, pumped out in shards across my arms, my lungs, my legs, my head. The pain of being torn apart by my own blood is unbearable. It hurts to move and so I don’t. I lie here. Frozen. 

Leave a Reply

